Post-Valentine’s Day blues?

Then obviously, you’re reading the wrong stuff.

What you should be reading is either or both May 1812, and/or Of Honest Fame.

No, honestly.

I don’t write romantic stuff.  Not really.  I don’t believe in writing it–at least not for myself.   And I try never to write in cliches.

But I do believe in love.  And I do believe in the power of love to uplift and transform (even the most tiresome of heroes or heroines)…

I also believe that a good love story uplifts the individual who reads it.  It demonstrates all that is noble and grand about the human race and makes the reader walk taller and more hopefully toward the future.  It reassures us that civilisation and all that we hold dear will continue and possibly even flourish.

One of the great joys to me of writing Of Honest Fame, and a thing for which I am profoundly grateful, is the love story of Marianne Wilmot.  Mainly because it wasn’t planned, it wasn’t part of the plot, it wasn’t anything I’d included in my (several evolving) synopses.  It just happened.  Marianne herself just happened, stumbling quite literally out of her carriage and onto the page.

And her development as a character just grew organically as I listened and watched the whole unfold.  Ditto her love story.

So, really, go have a read.  Enjoy.  The love stories aren’t the all in all of my work.  Anyone who knows me will know that.  But they are an intrinsic part of that which we call and cherish as life and I wouldn’t be without them.  (There, Bennetts does have  a heart, after all–who would have thought?)

And while you’re reading, enjoy the journey, not just the destination.  For I’m with Sebastian Faulkes on this whole business of who cares about the author, really?  It’s the characters who drive the novel, the characters who come to live in our  psyches.  Whom we come to love and perhaps return to again and again over our readertime of life.

And I do think that in May 1812 in Perceval, Castlereagh, Pemberton, Myddelton and Janey; and in Of Honest Fame, with Dunphail, Marianne Wilmot, Jesuadon, Boy, and Georgie Shuster I’ve created characters (none of whom are me, btw), you’ll find not just a plethora of individuals and love stories to uplift and all that, but I hope, truly hope, you will have found friends for life.

(Can you believe I’m actually plugging my own stuff here?   I know, I know–I can hardly believe it, myself.)

8 comments on “Post-Valentine’s Day blues?

  1. Shameless self-promotion is the only kind worth bothering about, dear. If you don’t like your own work you can’t expect strangers to.

    Which reminds me: BRIMSTONE AND LILY and JASPER’S FOUL TONGUE are available at Amazon and in the better class of bookshop. 😀

    • M M Bennetts says:

      Well, Monsieur Kroenung, as you know, I like modesty–not talking sex here–I would prefer to be known as modest and the writer who does not blow my own trumpet. But I do rather like both my books, and I did mean every word about Marianne Wilmot…so I’m trying to find a happy mean between the two of self-promo and modest, self-effacement. Will I succeed? Who knows? But I think it a worthy aim.

  2. Piotr says:

    Self promotion is pretty cool. Which reminds me, I have a blog now 😀

    • She’s being high-minded and ignoring us.

    • M M Bennetts says:

      Glad to know you’ve joined the pressurised group of bloggers…oh, no, another week gone by, what do I write about this week? Nope, can’t say that. Nope, wrote about that already…Ha ha ha.

      • Piotr says:

        I figured that I had to do something while waiting for Iron Falls to be ripped apart by the proofers, and my head’s so full of ideas that I couldn’t just start sitting down… err… wait, I’m already sitting down >_<… annnyway, I thought it be a good time to relax a little, but Bukowski and a Emilio are giving me evil looks…

  3. junebugger says:

    This is why I hesitate to say I write “romance” novels, because while I do write about romantic stuff, the focus is always on “love” — the two of which I believe is totally different.

    “It demonstrates all that is noble and grand about the human race and makes the reader walk taller and more hopefully toward the future. It reassures us that civilisation and all that we hold dear will continue and possibly even flourish.”

    —>And you described love is such a beautiful way. Very enlightening too. And VERY epic-sounding.

Leave a Reply

