The calm before the storm…

Despite my oft-asserted claim that I’m nothing but an idler, I’m actually not much good at it. 

In fact, I’m complete rubbish at it.  Worse than rubbish.  I’m just plain annoying.

So, the enforced ‘break’ that finishing one book entails leaves my mind empty of problems to mull over, depleted of characters to wake me in the middle of the night, lacking the excitement of scenes to envisage…

I become, in short, a complete pain.  Especially to myself.  (The dogs aren’t that keen either.)

And this further leaves me without any excuse to procrastinate over those things I must do:  like choose and practise my readings for book signings and launches. 

So, I’m rather thinking I should get writing again.  If only to stop annoying the dogs in their afternoon napping. 

Righto.  Research, here I come.

5 comments on “The calm before the storm…

  1. Piotr says:

    what you got in mind, a third story following on, or something randomly different?

    • M M Bennetts says:

      Following on…

      • Piotr says:

        cool, so more English goodness or are we going to Central Poland and Duchy of Warsaw? 🙂

      • M M Bennetts says:

        Italy. And then things were really heating up in Vienna and along the eastern front as the Russians combined with the Prussians and Austrians (who were slimy little manipulative gits in the form of Metternich) to push the eastern boundary of the French Empire back and back, and the invasion got underway. If I had a moustache, I’d be twirling the end…ha ha ha.

  2. Piotr says:

    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeet

Leave a Reply

