On 11th May 1812

assassinationat five o’clock in the afternoon, Sir Spencer Perceval, the Prime Minister, was shot in the lobby of the House of Commons.  He died almost instantly.

The militia were called out to occupy the streets of London, the mails were stopped, and sharp-shooters were installed atop major government buildings.  The river police searched the thousands of boats coming and going up the Thames, and the intelligence network combed the countryside for conspirators.

The assassin was one John Bellingham, a madman.

Sir Spencer remains the only British Prime Minister ever to have been assassinated.

6 comments on “On 11th May 1812

  1. junebugger says:

    Fascinating! I’ve added you onto my blogroll. Consider me your faithful blog follower. I especially enjoyed your post about “inexpressibles” (but for some reason there isn’t a comment box for that entry). What a laugh! I heard this term mentioned a few times, read a very vague definition of it, but never the in-depth meaning behind it as you explained. Oh man, if I’d time travelled back to the Regency era, I would have gone about constantly blushing. I think I’d have been more than a little disturbed by the sight of men with such TIGHT trousers. Whew. Anyway, I’m off, and will return to read some more later on in the day. I DO hope you’ll post many more interesting articles up on this blog.

    -June

  2. My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here at web,
    except I know I am getting knowledge every day by reading such fastidious articles or reviews.

  3. Just desire to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity in your post is simply excellent and
    i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to
    grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  4. search says:

    I believe everything published made a lot of sense. But, what about this?
    suppose you added a little information? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added something to possibly grab people’s attention? I mean On 11th May 1812 M.M.
    Bennetts is a little plain. You ought to look at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create post titles to grab viewers
    to click. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to
    grab people excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it would
    bring your blog a little livelier.

    • M M Bennetts says:

      Thank you for that. The problem for so many of us authors is that we’re always receiving conflicting information into how to raise our profile and be more visually attractive and accessible within 140 characters for twitter. And if we’re even slightly technophobic–like self–the only thing that will prosper in our efforts to meet all these various criteria is a fattening of the swear box as we become increasingly frustrated. So it’s a bit of a push-me pull you. But I’ll think about it…Thank you.

  5. Youг style iss so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    I аppreciate you for posting when yοu’ve got the opportunity, Guess I ѡill
    just book mark this site.

Leave a Reply

